How Old Do You Have to Be to Get Car Insurance?
Last Updated on
Most states allow teens to get a license around age 16. But how old do you have to be to buy car insurance?
Today, we’re explaining everything you need to know about age limits on car insurance, including how old you have to be to buy car insurance for yourself.
There Is No Age Limit on Car Insurance
Most states have no specific minimum age limit for car insurance.
In most states and with most insurance companies, you can buy car insurance as soon as you are licensed to drive.
Minors Will Need a Parent or Guardian’s Signature
There is generally no age limit for car insurance. However, drivers who are under the age of 18 may need a parent or guardian to sign their car insurance policy.
A car insurance policy is a legal contract, and minors (anyone under the age of 18) are generally not able to legally sign the document.
Most Teenage Drivers Get Car Insurance Under Their Parents’ Policy
Yes, you should be able to get your own car insurance policy at age 16 or 17. However, that doesn’t necessarily mean it’s a good idea.
Many teenage drivers will pay very high insurance premiums at this age. 16 and 17-year old drivers are extremely risky to insure, and male drivers are particularly high-risk. The average teenager in most states will pay between $4,000 and $6,000 per year for car insurance.
That’s why many teenagers get car insurance through their parents’ policy. As long as you are living at home with one or both parents, you should be able to get car insurance under your parents’ policy to save money.
Getting a Parent or Guardian to Sign an Insurance Policy
You should be able to get car insurance at any age, although any drivers under the age of 18 are considered minors, which means they will need a parent or guardian to sign their insurance policy.
Normally, state laws and insurance company guidelines will require you to have a parent or guardian sign any legal documents – like an insurance policy – with you.
Some States Have Minimum Ages for Car Ownership
State laws vary on the minimum age to own a car. In some states, a minor must have a parent listed on the title and registration, which means your parent must also be listed on the insurance policy.
Other states simply impose a minimum age to be the sole owner of a car, then leave it up to the insurance company to implement any requirements for a parent or guardian to sign a policy.
In South Carolina, for example, drivers are required to be 17 years old before they have sole ownership of a car. In Ohio, anyone under 18 who wants to title a vehicle must have their parent or guardian complete a minor consent form.
How Long Can I Stay On My Parents’ Insurance Policy?
Generally, you can stay on your parents’ insurance policy as long as you are living at the same address.
Most insurers also allow you to remain on the policy if you are living away from home at college.
If you have moved away from home, then most insurers will require you to get your own car insurance policy.
How to Find the Cheapest Car Insurance as a Teenage Driver
Car insurance is most expensive when you are a teenager. As you get older, the price of car insurance drops (assuming you maintain a safe driving record).
The best way to get cheap car insurance as a teenage driver is to get listed under a parent’s car insurance policy. You can save up to 50% on car insurance. In fact, your parents’ insurance company will likely require you to get listed as soon as you are a licensed driver.
However, if you are over the age of 18 and have moved away from home, then you will need to get your own car insurance policy. In this case, shopping for cheap car insurance is the same as shopping at any age: by comparing as many plans as possible, you can get the best possible deal on car insurance.
Compare rates using online car insurance comparison websites like our own site. Just enter your ZIP code to instantly view the best car insurance companies in your area. Complete a free quote request form from any of the companies, then pick the one that best suits your needs.
Technically, there’s no specific age limit on car insurance. You can get your own car insurance policy at any age. However, because an insurance policy is a legal contract, you need the signature of your parent or guardian if you are trying the sign the contract under age 18.
If you are under age 18 or still living at home, it’s generally cheaper and easier to get car insurance through a parent’s policy.