Is USAA’s Roadside Assistance Worth It?

Last Updated on October 7, 2026

You’re cruising along when the temperature gauge spikes and steam starts rolling out from under the hood. You weren’t in an accident — your car just quit on you — and now you need help fast.

Maybe you remember seeing “roadside assistance” when you signed up for auto insurance. If you have USAA insurance, is adding roadside assistance actually worth it — or is it smarter to just pay for a tow when you need one?

USAA offers optional roadside assistance that can dispatch help when your vehicle breaks down (think: dead battery, flat tire, lockout, or a tow) — situations that usually don’t involve filing a traditional accident claim. USAA doesn’t publish a price for it, so the only place you’ll see your own cost is your quote or your declarations page. The real question is whether it’s the right kind of protection for how (and where) you drive, and USAA’s filed policy language answers that more clearly than most policyholders expect.

Below is what USAA roadside assistance typically covers, the common limitations to watch for, and a simple way to decide if it’s a good value for you.

Our Rating of USAA Roadside Assistance

A policy add-on for eligible members that pays for one roadside service each time the car is disabled, with towing to the nearest shop that can do the work rather than a fixed mileage allowance.

3.8

out of 5

★★★★☆

Based on coverage limits, response times, service area, exclusions, and dispatch experience.

Member-only add-on Towing to the nearest repair shop Dispatch or reimbursement

Summary

Bottom line: USAA roadside assistance is usually worth it as a basic safety net for eligible drivers, but read the one-service-per-breakdown rule before you count on it, and check your own declarations page for any dollar limit.

USAA’s filed auto policy form pays the reasonable cost of one of four things each time your car is disabled: up to an hour of mechanical labor at the roadside, locksmith service to get you back into the car, a tow to the nearest place that can do the repairs during regular business hours, or delivery of gas or oil or a tire change. You pay for the fuel, the oil and the tire. There is no mileage cap in the form at all; the limit of liability is “the reasonable price for the covered service,” and any dollar amount shows up on your declarations page rather than in the policy language. Like most insurers, USAA dispatches through third-party networks, and because the form promises to pay the costs you incur, paying out of pocket and submitting an itemized receipt is built into the contract.

Best for

  • USAA-eligible members who want a cheap backstop for the occasional breakdown
  • Drivers of older or high-mileage vehicles who are more likely to need a tow or jump-start
  • People who want insurer-dispatched help but like having a reimbursement fallback

Not ideal for

  • Drivers who want a long guaranteed tow, or trip interruption money, neither of which is in the policy form
  • Households that expect several services in one breakdown, since the form pays for only one per disablement
  • Anyone who prefers to keep roadside events completely separate from their auto policy history

What USAA Roadside Assistance Usually Covers

USAA files its auto policy state by state, so check your own. The wording below is from USAA’s policy form filed in Maine, form 5100ME(02), and it is more specific than USAA’s marketing. Start with the sentence that governs everything else: USAA pays “the reasonable costs you or any family member incurs for one of the following each time your covered auto is disabled.” One service per breakdown, not a bundle.

  • Towing: “Towing, to the nearest place where necessary repairs can be made during regular business hours, if the vehicle will not run or is stranded on or immediately next to a public road.” That is a nearest-shop rule, not a mileage allowance, so the figures you see quoted around the web (50 miles turns up a lot) are not in the policy. Two conditions are easy to miss: regular business hours, and the car has to be on or right beside a public road. If you want a shop farther away, expect to pay the difference on the tow.
  • Battery jump-start: the form doesn’t name jump-starts separately. A jump falls under “mechanical labor up to one hour at the place of breakdown.” If the jump doesn’t take, the tow is a second service, and the form pays for one. Replacing the battery is on you, because the coverage buys service and not parts. Related reading: jump-start coverage.
  • Flat tire help: the form covers “a change of tire on a disabled vehicle” but adds, “we do not pay for the cost of these items.” So you need a usable spare. Without one you need a tow instead, and again that is your one service. For more on what insurance does and doesn’t pay for, see flat tire coverage details.
  • Lockout service: “Locksmith services to gain entry to your covered auto. This does not include the rekeying of locks following theft or misplacement of keys.” So the locksmith gets you in; new keys, fobs and rekeying are yours to pay for.
  • Emergency fuel delivery: the form covers “delivery of gas or oil” and is flat about the rest: “we do not pay for the cost of these items.” You pay for the gas every time. More here: fuel delivery coverage.
  • Minor on-site labor: “Mechanical labor up to one hour at the place of breakdown.” That hour is the roadside fix: a jump, a quick adjustment, basic troubleshooting. If the car still won’t run after it, the next step is a tow.

The form sets the ceiling in one sentence: “Under USAA Roadside Assistance, our limit of liability is the reasonable price for the covered service.” No miles, no dollar figure. If your policy carries a per-event amount, it will be printed on your declarations page, not in the policy wording. USAA’s policy territory for all of this is the United States, its territories and possessions, Puerto Rico and Canada.

Common Limitations (The Stuff That Decides “Worth It”)

Roadside assistance can be a bargain — if you know the limits. These are the most common “gotchas” that affect the true value:

  • One service per breakdown. This is the limit people get caught by. The form pays for one of the four services each time the car is disabled, so a jump that fails and then a tow is two services and one of them is yours.
  • Nearest shop, business hours, public road. The tow goes to the nearest place that can do the repairs, during regular business hours, and the car has to be on or immediately next to a public road. Break down on a back lane on a Sunday night and those three conditions all start to matter.
  • Not accident coverage: If your vehicle is disabled due to a crash, that’s usually handled under your auto policy (or the other driver’s), not roadside assistance.
  • You still pay for the things, not the service. Gas, oil and a tire are excluded by name, and so is rekeying after lost or stolen keys. Mileage past the nearest qualified shop and anything above a limit printed on your declarations page is yours too.
  • Service record considerations: roadside requests may be recorded on your policy as events. We found nothing from USAA stating that it surcharges for them, and it isn’t the same as a collision claim, but it’s worth keeping in mind if you expect to lean on roadside often.

How USAA’s Roadside Assistance Compares to Other Insurers

USAA doesn’t publish a price for its add-on, so the only honest comparison is on coverage. Two insurers do publish prices, which is useful for scale: GEICO advertises its Emergency Road Service from $14 a year per car, and State Farm says its Emergency Road Service averages $10 to $20 a year. What separates these plans is the towing rule, how many services you get, and whether you’d rather buy an auto club plan that won’t sit on your insurance record. Every figure in the table is from the company’s own page, read in early October 2026.

CompanyUSAAAAAGEICOProgressiveState FarmLiberty Mutual
Annual CostNot published by USAA; check your quote or declarations pageAAA Mountain West: $64.99 Classic, $99.99 Plus, $124.99 Premier. AAA Washington: $75 / $115 / $155 plus a $20 enrollment feeFrom $14 a year per carNot publishedAverages $10-$20 a yearNot published
Winching and ExtractionNot a named benefit in the filed form. Service requires the car to be on or immediately next to a public roadExtrication and winching included; limits vary by tier and clubCovered when stuck within approximately 30 feet of a publicly maintained roadwayWithin 100 feet of a road or highwayCovered if stuck on or next to a public road (reasonable cost)Not listed
TowingTo the nearest place that can make the repairs during regular business hours. No mileage cap in the filed formAAA Mountain West: 5 miles Classic, 100 miles Plus, one 200-mile tow a year plus three 100-mile tows on Premier. AAA East Central Classic is 7 milesUp to 15 miles to the nearest qualified repair facility in most statesWithin a 15-mile radius, or the nearest qualified shop if none is inside 15 milesTo the nearest repair location if the car isn’t drivableTo the nearest qualified facility
Mechanical AdjustmentMechanical labor up to one hour at the place of breakdownMinor roadside help (limited)Not included; GEICO excludes on-scene labor beyond what the emergency needsOn-scene labor up to 1 hourUp to 1 hour laborNot specified
LocksmithLocksmith service to gain entry. Rekeying after lost or stolen keys is excludedAAA Mountain West: $50 Classic, $100 Plus, $150 Premier (Premier covers home lockouts too)Up to $100 for covered causesIncluded; you pay only the replacement key costsUp to 1 hour laborIncluded (unlock doors)
Flat TireIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Fuel DeliveryIncluded – you pay for the gas or oilAAA Mountain West: fuel cost not included on Classic, included on Plus and PremierIncluded – you pay for gasDelivery and service are free; you pay only for the fuelIncluded – you pay for gas/oil/batteryIncluded – you pay for fuel
Vehicle Jump StartNot named separately; falls under the one-hour labor benefitIncludedIncludedIncluded – jump-started at the sceneIncludedIncluded
Battery ReplacementNot includedAvailable (purchase battery; service provided)Not includedNot includedNot includedNot included
Electric Vehicle ChargingThe filed form doesn’t mention charging. Towing goes to the nearest place the repair can be madeTow to charging stationNot availableTow within 15 miles, or to the nearest qualified charging facility if none is inside 15 miles; you pay for the chargeTow to nearest place to charge (portable charger possible)Not specified (towing applies)
Emergency Travel ReimbursementNot in the filed formAAA Mountain West: up to $750 on Plus, up to $1,500 on PremierNot availableUp to $500 as a separate trip interruption add-on, only when you break down more than 100 miles from home, in states where availableNot availableNot available

Who Actually Shows Up When You Call USAA Roadside?

Like most insurers, USAA dispatches through third-party roadside networks that contract with local tow companies, locksmiths and mobile service providers. The person who shows up is usually a nearby local company. For its separate Extended Vehicle Protection service contract, USAA names the network in the agreement: “The 24-Hour Roadside Assistance Benefits are provided through Nation Motor Club, Inc.” We could not find a named network for the insurance add-on itself.

Use the USAA app or usaa.com to request help, or call the number printed on your ID card, which is the one tied to your policy. USAA’s published main line is 800-531-8722 (800-531-USAA) if you don’t have the card handy. Response times depend heavily on location, traffic, weather and how busy local providers are.

Do You Have to Use USAA’s Dispatch?

No. Reimbursement is built into the policy language: USAA promises to pay “the reasonable costs you or any family member incurs” for a covered service, which is exactly what happens when you arrange your own tow and send in the bill. The ceiling is the reasonable price for that service, so an unusually expensive tow can still leave you short. Using USAA’s dispatch is simpler because you’re less likely to pay upfront and wait.

If you do pay out-of-pocket, keep an itemized receipt with the date, the vehicle information, the location, and a clear description of the service provided.

So… Is USAA Roadside Assistance Worth It?

For many drivers the add-on is cheap enough that one tow pays for years of it. GEICO publishes the arithmetic for its own coverage: in Houston a tow runs $75 with the first five miles included and $1.50 a mile after, against $14 a year for the coverage. USAA doesn’t publish either number, so use this checklist instead:

It’s usually worth it if…

  • You drive an older car or a high-mileage vehicle more likely to have breakdowns.
  • Your commute is long, you road-trip often, or you frequently drive in rural areas where towing costs can spike.
  • You don’t already have roadside coverage through a manufacturer, a phone plan, or a credit card.

You may want an alternative if…

  • Your car is newer and still covered by manufacturer roadside assistance (many new vehicles include it for a few years).
  • You want a guaranteed long tow. AAA’s upper tiers do that: at AAA Mountain West, Plus tows 100 miles and Premier adds one 200-mile tow a year. The Auto Club Group describes its Premier the same way, “one (1) 200-mile tow per household.” USAA’s form promises the nearest shop, not a distance.
  • You’re concerned about roadside requests appearing on your insurance history and prefer to keep towing separate from your auto policy.

One more thing, and read the terms before you count on it: most credit card roadside benefits dispatch a truck without paying for it. American Express runs a 24-hour hotline at no extra charge, but its terms say “all costs associated with these emergency roadside services are the responsibility of the Card Member.” Visa’s Roadside Dispatch charges a flat $79.95 service call with five miles of towing included, and you pay the mileage beyond that. Chase’s Sapphire Reserve is the exception that actually pays, up to $50 an event and four events a year. A $14-a-year insurance add-on beats most of those on price.

What to Check Before You Add It

Before you pay for any “maybe I’ll need it” coverage, pull up your quote or declarations page and confirm:

  • Any dollar cap per event. USAA’s policy wording has no mileage limit, so the only number to look for is a per-event amount on your declarations page.
  • How many events a year. The filed form limits you to one service per breakdown but doesn’t cap the number of breakdowns, so ask whether your state’s policy does.
  • What’s excluded. The form excludes the cost of gas, oil and tires, and rekeying after lost or stolen keys. Winching isn’t a named benefit, and service requires the car to be on or immediately beside a public road, so ask about off-road recovery and trailers.
  • Reimbursement rules: what documentation you need and how quickly you must submit it.

If those rules fit how you drive, USAA roadside assistance is an easy, cheap safety net. If you need a guaranteed long tow or want roadside kept off your auto policy entirely, an auto club plan fits better.

My advice is to read the roadside line on your own declarations page before the next renewal, and while you have it open, check whether your car is still under a manufacturer roadside plan. I’ve seen people pay for both for years without noticing.

FAQs on USAA Roadside Assistance

Sources

Checked October 4, 2026