What Is an FR-44 Policy?
Last Updated on September 26, 2022
An FR-44 policy is a unique type of car insurance policy that certain high-risk drivers are required to have.
An FR-44 policy isn’t technically insurance. An FR-44 is a certificate of “financial responsibility” (FR) proving a driver is carrying an adequate amount of insurance.
An FR-44 is proof of car insurance – it’s not actually car insurance. Some drivers are required to have an FR-44 after being labeled high-risk. If you have multiple at-fault accidents or DUIs on your driving record, for example, then you might be required to hold an FR-44 certificate.
If you are required to have an FR-44 certificate, you must have higher insurance liability limits. Liability limits in your state might be $50,000, for example, but an FR-44 doubles those requirements to $100,000. You are a higher-risk driver, which means you have higher liability requirements.
FR-44 certificates are only found in two states: Virginia and Florida.
Today, we’re explaining everything you need to know about what an FR-44 policy is and how FR-44 car insurance works.
What is an FR-44 Policy?
An FR-44 is a certificate of financial responsibility. If you are a high-risk driver, then you may be required to get an FR-44 certificate.
If you are required to get an FR-44 certificate, then you must buy car insurance with higher liability limits. Instead of having $50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage, for example, you may be required to have $100,000 of coverage.
Many drivers are required to get FR-44 policies after being labeled as high risk. If you were recently convicted of DUI, for example, or have caused multiple at-fault collisions in the last few years, then you may be a high-risk driver and require an FR-44 policy.
Some insurance companies call FR-44 policies “DUI insurance”. If you are reinstating your license after a DUI or DWI conviction, then you may be required to get an FR-44 certificate.
FR-44 certificates are similar to SR-22 certificates, which are also required in some states.
Which States Require FR-44 Policies?
FR-44 certificates are only required in two states:
How Does an FR-44 Policy Work in Virginia?
In Virginia, drivers may be required to file and maintain an FR-44 certificate for three years after being convicted of a serious incident, including:
- Maiming while under the influence
- Driver while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI/DWI)
- Driving with a forfeited license due to a conviction
- Driving with a forfeited license due to a “finding of not innocent” as a juvenile
- Violation of the provisions of any federal law, state law, or local ordinance similar to the above
In other words, if you are convicted of a serious driving offense, then you may be required to maintain an FR-44 certificate for three years in Virginia.
After three years without an incident, you will no longer be required to maintain an FR-44 certificate. You should be able to buy car insurance as you normally would.
FR-44 requirements in Virginia are higher than the legal minimum liability limits. They’re also higher than SR-22 requirements in Virginia. If you have an FR-44 certificate, then you must meet the following liability limits:
- $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
- $100,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
- $40,000 of property damage liability coverage
How Does an FR-44 Policy Work in Florida?
In Florida, an FR-44 policy is only required if you are convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or other intoxicants.
If you are convicted of DUI or DWI in Florida, you must get an FR-44 certificate before reinstating your license. This certificate must be maintained for three years.
Just like Virginia, Florida has higher liability requirements for FR-44 drivers. Drivers in Florida are required to meet the following liability limits:
- $100,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
- $300,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
- $50,000 of property damage liability coverage
How Much Does an FR-44 Cost?
It costs $15 to $25 to file an FR-44 certificate in Virginia or Florida.
However, the actual cost of an FR-44 policy is much higher. When you have an FR-44 certificate, you are required to meet higher car insurance limits than an ordinary driver. You are also a high-risk driver, which can cause insurance rates to be even higher. For both of these reasons, you can expect to pay significantly more for coverage than before.
Many drivers find their car insurance premiums double after serious convictions requiring an FR-44 certificate. If you paid $1,200 per year before your DUI/DWI conviction, for example, then you may pay $2,400 per year after your conviction.
What’s the Difference Between an FR-44 and an SR-22?
Both the FR-44 and SR-22 are certificates that prove you have a specific amount of car insurance. Both the FR-44 and SR-22 are required of high-risk drivers – including those convicted of a DUI or DWI.
Most states use an SR-22 system for high-risk drivers. Virginia and Florida are the only two states that require FR-44 certificates.
In general, you may be required to submit an SR-22 certificate if:
- You were convicted of a DUI or DWI offense (except in Florida or Virginia, where this would lead to an FR-44 certificate)
- Your driver’s license has been suspended
- You have been cited for failing to maintain auto insurance coverage in the past
- You’ve committed serious driving-related violations
How to Get FR-44 Insurance
Most major car insurance companies offer FR-44 insurance. You’ll pay higher rates than ordinary drivers. However, you may not even have to change your insurance provider.
GEICO, for example, offers SR-22 and FR-44 insurance in most states. When requesting a free quote online, just check the box beside the question, “Need a Certificate of Financial Responsibility or SR-22?”. The FR-44 certificate falls into this same category.
Some insurers do not offer FR-44 policies through their standard online application. You need to contact an insurance salesperson to get a quote on FR-44 insurance. Other providers that offer FR-44/SR-22 policies include AAA, Allstate, Progressive, State Farm, USAA, Liberty Mutual, Nationwide, Farmers, and The General.
By comparing as many FR-44 insurance quotes as possible, you can ensure you pay the lowest possible rates on FR-44 car insurance in Virginia or Florida.
How to Get FR-44 Insurance Without a Car
Some drivers in Florida or Virginia are required to show proof of insurance with an FR-44 even if they don’t own a vehicle. You are required to get this certificate to reinstate your license.
In this situation, you need to buy non-owner car insurance. As the name suggests, this is a car insurance policy for people who do not own a vehicle.
If you have non-owner car insurance that meets your FR-44 certificate requirements, then you can legally drive someone else’s vehicle. You can also rent a vehicle and remain covered.
Final Word on FR-44 Insurance Coverage
An FR-44 policy is a type of car insurance certificate. This certificate proves you meet certain insurance liability limits.
If you were convicted of a DUI or DWI in Florida or Virginia or committed other serious offenses in either state, you may be required to get an FR-44 certificate.
An FR-44 policy isn’t technically car insurance. It’s a certificate that proves you have car insurance. However, you can still buy an FR-44 policy from any major insurance company in the United States.