Rhode Island Car Insurance
Last Updated on January 7, 2020
Rhode Island is the smallest state in the U.S. but is the second most densely populated behind New Jersey. That makes it hard to find some alone time and driving on a Rhode Island road isn’t the place to relax. Instead, take a trip to the beaches that make up nearly 14% of the little landmass that the state possesses. In fact, Rhode Island is unofficially referred to as the ‘Ocean State’ and a nautical feel pervades the state. Boating enthusiasts and water lovers alike have settled in Rhode Island and while many may spend a lot of their time in the water, they still use a car to get around on land. Insurance is a requirement to operate a vehicle in Rhode Island and it’s important that you have enough to protect yourself, your property, and your passengers.
Average Auto Insurance Prices in Rhode Island
The state motto for Rhode Island is ‘Hope’ and you might need it when you go to apply for affordable insurance. While Rhode Island residents enjoy many perks the state has to offer like fresh seafood and beach access, low insurance rates aren’t one of them. Rhode Island vehicle insurance is consistently higher than the national average and it may be due to several factors, the first being a high number of uninsured drivers. When these drivers get into an accident, the victim’s insurance absorbs the cost, driving up premiums to compensate. Rhode Islanders also don’t use their seat belts as they should. It’s likely the main reason that insurance rates are so high is because of the population density. The more people in a state, the more risk an insurance company runs by providing coverage. Fortunately, there are always ways to reduce your personal premiums.
- Current average annual auto insurance premiums in the United States: $1613.49
- Current average annual auto insurance premiums in Rhode Island: Currently Unavailable
Average Insurance Rates for the Top Five Most Populated Cities
- Providence: $2534
- Warwick: $2321
- Cranston: $2322
- Pawtucket: $2367
- Past Providence: $2387
Rhode Island Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
It can be hard to know how much insurance coverage to purchase when you’re doing your research. Keep in mind that all states have minimum requirements. If you don’t purchase at least this amount, you will be in violation of the law.
- Bodily Injury Liability per person: $25,000
- Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $50,000
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury is required but legal minimums are not set.
The following amounts and policies are recommended.
- Bodily Injury Liability per person: $100,000
- Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $300,000
- Property Damage Liability: $50,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per person: $100,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident: $300,000
- Medical Payments: $5,000
- Collision: $500 deductible
- Comprehensive: $250 deductible
It’s important to take into consideration that even buying the recommended amounts may not always provide enough protection. It’s really a question of what you have to lose. If you cause a very serious accident and the victim knows that you’re financially able to compensate them for the expensive medical bills, you may find yourself in court and more debt than you can imagine. It’s easy to protect your assets with the right amount of insurance and luckily, it’s fairly affordable to add higher coverage amounts. Speak to an insurance agent to find out exactly how much auto insurance you need for adequate protection.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Rhode Island
Some states view driving without insurance as a serious punishable offense while others are more lenient. Maybe it’s the fact that lawmakers feel the pain when paying their insurance premiums but compared to a few other states, Rhode Island’s penalties aren’t as strict. If you’re pulled over and can’t prove that you have insurance, you may receive a traffic citation, pay a $500 fine and your license could be suspended for up to three months. But, if you can prove within 10 days that you had insurance at the time of the incident, you can get your citation and fees waived. This is subject to variation but at least you have the chance to right your wrong. To avoid this altogether, be sure to always carry your insurance identification card with you.
How to Get Auto Insurance in Rhode Island
At first, it may seem like finding affordable insurance in Rhode Island is nearly impossible but don’t give up yet. One of the best ways to find the policy and price that works best for you is to shop around and we make it easy with our auto insurance quote comparison tool. All you need to do is enter your zip code, fill out a brief form and we will provide you with multiple quotes from insurers in Rhode Island. Once you find a few agents, be sure to inquire about possible discounts.
Additional Rhode Island Auto Insurance Resources
The information above is for reference material only and Insurance Panda cannot legally be held responsible for anything written above. For official information, visit these websites: