Getting car insurance in Nevada doesn’t have to be complicated! At Insurance Panda, we make getting auto insurance easy anywhere in the United States. We help you quickly compare Nevada car insurance quotes, then get the best insurance policy for your budget and lifestyle.
To apply for a car insurance quote today, just enter your ZIP code at the top of this page. We’ll display a minimum of 10 quotes from car insurance companies serving your town, city, or ZIP code in Nevada.
Check below for minimum Nevada car insurance requirements. As our table shows, the state of Nevada requires a minimum of $15,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, $30,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident, $10,000 in property damage liability coverage, $15,000 in uninsured motorist coverage per person, and $30,000 in uninsured motorist coverage per accident.
Nevada drivers have a unique advantage over certain other drivers: in Nevada, you can choose to reject uninsured motorist coverage – despite the fact that it’s listed under the state’s minimum requirements.
Do I Need Full Auto Insurance Coverage in Nevada?
When buying auto insurance in Nevada, you can choose a minimum liability insurance plan based on the state’s minimum legal limits. Or, you can buy comprehensive or collision-only coverage, which covers a more extensive range of circumstances.
It’s up to you to decide whether you want a minimum car insurance policy in Nevada or if you want full auto insurance coverage.
Typically, on a newer and more valuable vehicle, it’s in your best interest to get comprehensive coverage. If you drive an older vehicle and want to save money on your monthly premiums, then minimum insurance plans in Nevada may be worth it – although it’s important to remember that your car insurance won’t cover any repairs to your own vehicle or property damaged in a collision.
How to Get Car Insurance for a Teenage Driver in Nevada
Nevada, like many other states, has a graduated license system. You need to be at least 15 and a half years old to get a learner’s permit in Nevada. Once you’re 16, you can apply for a driver’s license. Drivers under the age of 18 are required to complete a driver training course. These courses consist of online or in-class instruction and 50 hours of instruction behind the wheel.
If your teen driver has a learner’s permit, then he or she can drive your vehicle without upgrading your insurance policy. However, once your teen driver receives a full license, you’ll need to upgrade your car insurance policy.
Teen drivers in Nevada face other driving restrictions. Young drivers are prohibited from transporting passengers under age 18, for example, except for immediate family members, for the first 6 months of holding their license. Drivers under age 18 are also prohibited from driving in Nevada between 10pm and 5am. Additional curfew laws apply in Las Vegas and Reno’s Downtown Gaming District, where young drivers are not permitted on the streets (driving or walking) overnight.
Nevada Insurance Rules And Regulations
As a “Tort” state, Nevada drivers are financially responsible for any property damage or personal injuries that they may cause during an automobile accident. For this reason, you are required by law to carry liability insurance.
The state minimum’s are 15/30/10 (see the chart below) for liability insurance, but it is strongly recommended that you purchase higher levels of coverage to protect yourself and your family, in addition to any assets you may have.
For added protection, Nevada drivers may decide to purchase additional auto insurance for medical payments, comprehensive, collision, as well as uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
|Coverage Type||Required?||Minimum Coverage Amount Required|
|Bodily Injury Liability||Yes||$15,000 per person
$30,000 per accident
|Property Damage Liability||Yes||$10,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||No||$15,000 per person
$30,000 per accident
Auto Insurance for Leased Vehicles in Nevada (NV)
Most leasing companies in Nevada typically require drivers to maintain insurance coverage which exceeds the minimums set by Nevada state law. This is to protect you financially, as well as your leasing company, should they be held partly responsible. Most leasing companies will recommend the following amounts of insurance coverage:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $50,000
- Comprehensive and collision coverage: $500 maximum deductible
Car Insurance Agents By City/Town In Nevada
- Carson City, NV – Cheap Car Insurance
- Henderson, NV – Cheap Car Insurance
- Las Vegas, NV – Cheap Car Insurance
- North Las Vegas, NV – Cheap Car Insurance
- Reno, NV – Cheap Car Insurance
- Sparks, NV – Cheap Car Insurance
Contacts For Auto Insurance In NV
|Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711
|Nevada Division of Insurance
788 Fairview Drive
Carson City, NV 89701