Kansas drivers have plenty of choices when shopping for car insurance within the state. Despite having a relatively small population, Kansas is home to plenty of nationwide and local auto insurance companies who will happily give you cheap auto insurance quotes. By taking advantage of various discounts – like bundles and good driver discounts – drivers in Kansas can save even more on the price of car insurance.
What’s the Best Car Insurance Company in Kansas?
Kansas is served by all major car insurance providers as well as several regional providers. There’s nothing wrong with choosing a nationwide car insurance company. They often have the best rates and service. However, some Kansas drivers may find better deals with smaller, local car insurance companies.
American Family, State Farm, Farmers, Allied, GEICO, Allstate, Progressive, USAA, and MetLife are all popular nationwide car insurance companies serving customers in Kansas. In addition, Kansas drivers are served by other insurance companies like Auto Owners, Farm Bureau Mutual, Electric, Safe Auto, Encompass, and Shelter.
The Best Car Insurance for Teen Drivers in Kansas
Teen drivers in Kansas can get their learner’s permit at 14 years old – the lowest of any of the 50 states (although several other states have age limits of 14 as well). At 15, Kansas teen drivers are eligible for a restricted license, and at 16, they’re eligible for a less-restricted license. At 16, a teen driver in Kansas can get a license allowing them to drive unsupervised during daylight hours. Teen drivers can drive at night, but only when accompanied by an adult over the age of 21.
In terms of car insurance for teen drivers in Kansas, teen drivers do not require car insurance when driving the family vehicle with a learner’s permit. However, once you graduate to a restricted license and begin driving alone, then car insurance may need to be upgraded. Expect car insurance prices to rise significantly after adding a teen driver to your plan in Kansas.
How Much Car Insurance Should I Carry in Kansas?
You’re required to carry car insurance in Kansas. Kansas is a no-fault state where drivers are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance in addition to liability insurance. You’re required to have $25,000 of personal injury liability coverage per person and $50,000 of personal injury liability coverage per accident as well as $25,000 of property damage liability coverage. Plus, Kansas drivers must have $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of uninsured motorist insurance, along with additional personal injury protection.
Some Kansas drivers choose to exceed these coverage requirements for their own peace of mind. However, all coverage options beyond what’s listed above are optional.
Kansas Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements
Kansas is considered to be a “No-Fault” state, which simply means that your auto insurance policy covers you and your personal expenses and the other driver’s insurance policy covers them and their personal expenses relating to the accident. This is regardless of who is at fault.
This state carries with it one of the most detailed laws regarding mandatory insurance:
As required to be a “No Fault” state, each driver is required to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) with the following minimum limits:
- $4,500 in medical expenses, per person.
- $900 per month for disability/loss of income for year.
- $25 per day for in-home assistance.
- $2000 for funeral, burial, or cremation services.
- $4,500 total for rehabilitation expenses.
The following benefits are also required and fall into the PIP coverage as survivor benefits:
- $25 per day for in-home assistance for one year.
- $900 per month for disability/loss of income for one year.
In addition to the required PIP, all Kansas drivers must also carry auto liability insurance with minimum coverage levels of 25/50/10 (see the chart below).
Uninsured/underinsured motorist protection is also required by Kansas law with minimum levels of 25/50 (see the chart below). This will help cover expenses in the event that you are struck by an uninsured motorist, or one without enough liability coverage on their own policy.
Suing for injuries sustained is only allowed under circumstances.
Kansas drivers may increase their protection by raising the levels of coverage on their auto policies, and/or adding on optional comprehensive and collision.
|Coverage Type||Required?||Minimum Coverage Amount Required|
|Bodily Injury Liability||Yes||$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
|Property Damage Liability||Yes||$10,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Yes||$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
|Personal Injury||Yes||$4,500 per person|
Auto Insurance for Leased Vehicles in Kansas (KS)
Most leasing companies in Kansas typically require drivers to maintain insurance coverage which exceeds the minimums set by Kansas state law. This is to protect you financially, as well as your leasing company, should they be held partly responsible. Most leasing companies will recommend the following amounts of insurance coverage:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $50,000
- Comprehensive and collision coverage: $500 maximum deductible
Insurance Agents By City/Town In Kansas
- Hutchinson, KS – Cheap Car Insurance
- Kansas City, KS – Cheap Car Insurance
- Lawrence, KS – Cheap Car Insurance
- Lenexa, KS – Cheap Car Insurance
- Manhattan, KS – Cheap Car Insurance
- Olathe, KS – Cheap Car Insurance
- Overland Park, KS – Cheap Car Insurance
- Salina, KS – Cheap Car Insurance
- Shawnee, KS – Cheap Car Insurance
- Topeka, KS – Cheap Car Insurance
- Wichita, KS – Cheap Car Insurance
Contacts for Auto Insurance Information In Kansas
|Kansas Department of Revenue: Division of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 2188
Topeka, KS 66601-2188
|Kansas Insurance Department
421 SW 9th Street
Topeka, KS 66612-1678