Connecticut Car Insurance
Last Updated on October 13, 2020
If you want to see a state utilizing all forms of transportation, look no further than Connecticut. The state, bordered by New York, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island on land and by Long Island Sound on the south side, uses a network to make its residents get where they need to go. Railways allow many commuters to get to New York City and city buses are an integral part of urban transportation. Bradley International Airport is a major airport based just north of Hartford, the capital. Ferries are also very important to travelers, making daily journeys to certain parts of Connecticut, New York, and Rhode Island. But the tried and true method of getting from point A to point B, the car, is still used by many residents and if your car is registered in Connecticut, you’re required to have insurance.
You wouldn’t leave your car idling at a green light, would you? Don’t wait to buy insurance for your new vehicle either. It can lead to long term consequences that can cost you a lot of money.
Average Auto Insurance Prices in Connecticut
Luckily for you, auto insurance is considered affordable in some parts of Connecticut. Although the state is on the small side, it’s not nearly as dense as other states like New Jersey or Rhode Island. This means that drivers pay less because of decreased risk. Remember that the numbers given below are just an estimate. It’s a fact that premiums can fluctuate year to year or even across coverage periods and it may not even be your fault. Some drivers have reported premiums raises even though they never got a ticket. Your premiums help cover the cost of the insurance company and the benefits that it pays out. Normally, you’ll be notified of a rate hike but the beauty of auto insurance is that you have the ability to shop around if you don’t like the price you pay. To give you a rough guide of average Connecticut insurance rates, keep reading:
Current average annual auto insurance premiums in the United States: $1613.49
Current average annual auto insurance premiums in Vermont: $1950.05
Average Insurance Rates for Five Connecticut Cities
- Bridgeport: $2348
- Hartford: $2623
- Bristol: $1951
- New Haven: $2237
- Stamford: $1801
Connecticut Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
The state of Connecticut has the following requirements for automobile insurance coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability per person: $20,000
- Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $40,000
- Property Damage Liability: $10,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per person: $20,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident: $4,000
The following amounts and policies are recommended.
- Bodily Injury Liability per person: $100,000
- Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $300,000
- Property Damage Liability: $50,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per person: $100,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident: $300,000
- Medical Payments: $5,000
- Collision: $500 deductible
- Comprehensive: $0 deductible
You may notice that the recommended amounts are much higher than the legal minimum for certain polices. Also, some policies aren’t even required by law but they are certainly recommended. States recognize that the search for auto insurance cannot be found in a ‘one size fits all’ policy. The legal minimum does not mean that you will be protected in all accident, it’s just a guideline. When trying to determine how much insurance coverage to purchase, ask yourself what kind of assets need protection. It’s not just your car, but your house, your retirement fund, and your children’s college savings. If you cause a serious accident, all of that can disappear quickly if you don’t have the adequate amount of insurance.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Connecticut
In the state of Connecticut, you’re legally required to carry your insurance identification card with you at all times. If you’re pulled over and can’t find your car, your policy’s declaration page will suffice. If you don’t have either forms of identification because you lack insurance, you should start your search now. If you get pulled over, you could be charged a fee which is like a slap on the wrist compared to some states.
In Connecticut, you’ll receive a warning letter from the state that instructs you what you need to do to legally operate a vehicle, i.e. get insurance! But, if you obtain the proper coverage in a reasonable amount of time and pay a $200 penalty fee, it’s likely your driving history won’t suffer. On the other hand, if you don’t respond within 30 days, you may get another letter in the mail telling you your registration has been suspended. At that point, you’ll need to visit the court and DMV before obtaining insurance.
By following protocol the first time, you will save a big headache down the road.
How to Get Auto Insurance in Connecticut
So you say the search for insurance has already given you a headache? We understand how frustrating it can be. That’s precisely why Insurance Panda has developed the quote comparison tool. All you need to do is enter your zip code, fill out a brief form and then you’ll receive multiple quotes from insurance companies right in your area. You can always do a Google search but our comparison tool lets you one-stop shop.
Additional Connecticut Auto Insurance Resources
The information above is for reference material only and Insurance Panda cannot legally be held responsible for anything written above. For official information, visit these websites: