Montana Car Insurance
Last Updated on September 15, 2020
Montana drivers pay competitive rates for car insurance. However, it never hurts to save more money, and that’s why a growing number of drivers in Montana are choosing to compare quotes with multiple providers.
We’ve helped thousands of drivers in Montana compare cheap car insurance quotes online in seconds. Our analysis shows that certain companies tend to offer drivers in Montana better rates than others. GEICO, Progressive, State Farm, Farmers Union, and Allied, for example, all tend to offer rates that are below the state average.
Drivers in Big Cities May Pay More for Car Insurance
Montana drivers have a unique advantage over drivers in other states. The biggest city in Montana, Billings, is home to around 100,000 people. In most states, drivers in big cities pay more than drivers in rural areas. Montana’s biggest cities, however, are still considered small or medium-sized cities, which means that you’re unlikely to notice a significant rate difference whether you’re in Whitefish, Missoula, or a remote rural area. In fact, drivers in Missoula pay some of the cheapest car insurance prices in the state.
How Do Car Insurance Companies in Montana Calculate Premiums?
Due to different laws and regulations, car insurance companies use different factors to calculate car insurance premiums in different states. The price you pay for car insurance in Montana depends on a number of different factors, including your driving record, your credit score, your age, and your gender. Insurance companies will also look at your car’s make, model, and year to determine its approximate value.
Car insurance companies will also use your ZIP code to determine how much you should pay for car insurance. Drivers in a ZIP code with high rates of vehicle theft, for example, will pay more for comprehensive auto insurance coverage than drivers in safer parts of the state.
Car Insurance for Teen Drivers in Montana
Anywhere in the United States, you’re going to pay more when insuring a teen driver. If you want to add your teenage child to your Montana car insurance policy, then you might pay 50% or even 100% more for car insurance. Teen drivers are a higher risk than older, more experienced drivers.
At age 14 years and 6 months, a teen driver in Montana can obtain a learner’s permit – but only if the driver is in a state-approved traffic education program. At age 16, a teen driver in Montana can apply for a Traffic Education Learner’s License (TELL), assuming he or she has had a learner’s permit for more than six months.
Talk to your car insurance provider in Montana to determine teen driver insurance needs. Typically, most policies will cover teen drivers on a learner’s permit, and you won’t need to purchase additional coverage. When your teen driver has a TELL, however, you will likely need to upgrade your car insurance policy to ensure your teen driver is covered.
The Most Common Car Insurance Discounts in Montana
Car insurance discounts in Montana vary widely between providers. However, some of the most common car insurance discounts include good driver discounts, good student discounts, bundling discounts, and discounts for anti-theft or safety devices in the vehicle.
Montana Auto Insurance Requirements
As a “Tort” state, Montana drivers are financially responsible for any and all property damage and bodily injuries caused by an auto accident for which they were found to be at fault. For this reason, the insurance laws require for you to carry liability insurance minimums of 25/50/10 (see the chart below) in order to operate a motor vehicle.
At this point in time, it isn’t mandatory for operators of motorcycles to carry liability coverage, but it is highly recommended.
The extra protection of add-ons to your Montana auto insurance policy is available to help care for you and your assets, such as collision, comprehensive, uninsured/underinsured motorists, as well as medical payments.
If you have a loan on your vehicle, your financial institution will probably require a few of the add-ons to your policy before they will give you the loan.
|Coverage Type||Required?||Minimum Coverage Amount Required|
|Bodily Injury Liability||Yes||$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
|Property Damage Liability||Yes||$10,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||Yes||$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
|Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury||No|
Auto Insurance for Leased Vehicles in Montana (MT)
Most leasing companies in Montana typically require drivers to maintain insurance coverage which exceeds the minimums set by Montana state law. This is to protect you financially, as well as your leasing company, should they be held partly responsible. Most leasing companies will recommend the following amounts of insurance coverage:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $50,000
- Comprehensive and collision coverage: $500 maximum deductible
Montana Insurance Contacts
|Montana Motor Vehicles Division
Department of Justice
Scott Hart Building, Second Floor
303 North Roberts
PO Box 201430
Helena, MT 59620-1430
|Montana State Auditor’s Office
840 Helena Ave.
Helena, MT 59601