CAR INSURANCE BY STATE

West Virginia isn’t referred to as “The Mountain State” for no reason. It’s the only U.S. state that lies completely within the Appalachian mountain range and to really see its true beauty, you need a car. Outdoor enthusiasts love West Virginia because it’s the ideal environment for hiking, hunting, mountain climbing and biking. White water rafting is also very popular but in the end, a car is the only thing that requires a form of insurance and you might be happy to have it when traveling in the state.

west virginia
West Virginia Auto Insurance Guide from InsurancePanda.com (Image source – FLICKR)

Many roads in West Virginia are very curvy and loop in and around mountains. Traveling on country roads without guard rails can make even the most experienced driver a little nervous. Add to that the risk of falling rocks and rampant wildlife and your scenic drive might turn into more than you bargained for. While incidents like this rarely happen, it’s always a good idea to be prepared and safe on the road. No one ever plans on getting into an accident.

Average Auto Insurance Prices in West Virginia

Auto insurance prices can range from affordable to expensive depending on different factors. While West Virginia will have an average, your personal circumstances will have more influence over your premiums. Things like your driving record, claim history and made and model of your car will impact rates.

If you have a bad driving record with multiple tickets and a DUI, your rates are going to be much higher compared to someone that has a clean slate. Sometimes, DUI recipients are dropped from an insurance provider altogether and must find high risk insurance. For most people though, discounts are available if you qualify. Be sure to ask your insurance agent about how you can qualify for an auto insurance discount.

Current average annual auto insurance premiums in the United States: $1666.62

Current average annual auto insurance premiums in West Virginia: $1786.00 

Most Expensive West Virginia Insurance Rates

1. North Matewan: $2189

2. Varney: $2189

3. Magnolia: $2189

4. Red Jacket: $2189

Lease Expensive West Virginia Insurance Rates

1. Martinsburg: $1479

2. Arden: $1479

3. Mill Creek: $1479

4. Hedgestville: $1470

West Virginia Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements

Currently, 11% of the state population doesn’t have a form of vehicle insurance. This spells bad news for residents that are obeying the law. In West Virginia, you must maintain at least liability coverage on a car and carry proof of insurance with you at all times. Unfortunately, there are those that decide to skip coverage altogether and when they cause an accident, it affects all drivers. Premiums must be raised to compensate for the damage an uninsured driver causes. But even the legal limits of insurance are rarely enough to provide enough coverage during a serious accident. Below are the legal limits but experts suggest purchasing the recommended amounts.

  • Bodily Injury Liability per person: $20,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $40,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per person: $20,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident: $40,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $10,000

The following amounts and policies are recommended.

  • Bodily Injury Liability per person: $100,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $300,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $50,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per person: $20,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident: $40,000
  • Medical Payments: $5,000
  • Collision: $500 deductible
  • Comprehensive: $0 deductible

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in West Virginia

Today, there’s no easy way to tell an insured driver from an uninsured driver. That means that you’re often finding out after someone has rear ended you. While it can give you a sinking feeling in your stomach to make that claim, that’s precisely why insurance companies offer this type of coverage. It’s relatively inexpensive to add to a basic policy and can provide peace of mind while driving. But, the other driver will face some legal repercussions.

West Virginia will suspend a car’s registration and license. Until you’re able to prove that you have vehicle insurance, your driving privileges remain revoked. You will also have to pay reinstatement fees which can range anywhere from $50 to $100.

How to Get Cheap Auto Insurance in West Virginia

Sometimes the search for insurance can feel as winding as the back roads of West Virginia. Just when you thought you understood all forms of coverage, a provider mentions something that you haven’t heard of. When trying to decide on an insurance policy, stick with the recommended coverage amount above and you should be okay. If you have a high level of personal assets, it may be helpful to speak to a professional but how do you choose?

Just use our simple quote comparison tool to find an affordable rate and you will be linked with insurance providers throughout your area. It only requires a little bit of information to get started and within minutes, you’ve got a list of reliable professional.

Insurance Agents By City/Town In West Virginia

Additional West Virginia Auto Insurance Resources

The information above is for reference material only and Insurance Panda cannot legally be held responsible for anything written above. For official information, visit these websites:

West Virginia Department of Transportation 

West Virginia Insurance Commissioner