CAR INSURANCE BY STATE

In order to operate a motor vehicle in the state of Washington, drivers are required to maintain minimum amounts of liability coverage, as outlined in the table below.

As a “Tort” state, Washington state drivers are financially responsible for any property damage and bodily injury they cause in an accident. It is recommended that drivers purchase higher limits of coverage to protect their assets, in case policy limits are not adequate enough to cover expenses.

If you wish to increase your insurance protection, you may purchase one or more policy add-ons, such as collision, comprehensive, Personal Injury Protection (PIP), or uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.

Coverage Type Required? Minimum Coverage Amount Required
Bodily Injury Liability Yes $25,000 per person or $50,000 per accident
Property Damage Liability Yes $10,000
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury No $25,000 per person or $50,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorist Property Damage No $10,000
Medical Payments No $10,000

Auto Insurance for Leased Vehicles in Washington (WA)

Most leasing companies in Washington typically require drivers to maintain insurance coverage which exceeds the minimums set by Washington state law. This is to protect you financially, as well as your leasing company, should they be held partly responsible. Most leasing companies will recommend the following amounts of insurance coverage:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability coverage: $50,000
  • Comprehensive and collision coverage: $500 maximum deductible

Washington State Auto Insurance Contacts

Washington State Department of Licensing 
1125 Washington St. SE
PO Box 9020
Olympia, WA 98507-9020
www.dol.wa.gov
Washington Office of the Insurance Commissioner
The Central Building
Suite 650
810 3rd Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
www.insurance.wa.gov

Insurance Agents By City/Town In Washington