CAR INSURANCE BY STATE

Utah is one of the many “No-Fault” states when it comes to auto insurance. This basically means that you need to insure yourself so that you will be covered in the event of an accident, no matter who is at fault.

In order to do this, Utah has implemented a few laws governing necessary insurance coverage:

  • Minimum liability auto insurance limits of 25/50/15 (see the chart below).
  • Uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage, with minimums of 10/20 (see the chart below).
  • Personal injury protection (PIP) will pay for any of your personal expenses relating to the accident, such as loss of wages or medical expenses.

If the cost of your accident-related injuries exceeds your PIP coverage, and the other driver is found to be at-fault, you are entitled to collect payment to pay for the remainder of your expenses.

Utah drivers may decide to purchase policy add-ons, like collision and comprehensive coverage, to provide greater protection.

Coverage Type Required? Minimum Coverage Amount Required
Bodily Injury Liability Yes $25,000 per person

$50,000 per accident

Property Damage Liability Yes $15,000
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Yes $10,000 per person

$20,000 per accident

Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Yes $10,000 per person

$20,000 per accident

Personal Injury Yes $3,000

You may want to consider purchasing limits of coverage higher than those required by law to protect your assets or property, as you may be personally responsible for any damages above the policy limits.

Auto Insurance for Leased Vehicles in Utah (UT)

Most leasing companies in Utah typically require drivers to maintain insurance coverage which exceeds the minimums set by Utah state law. This is to protect you financially, as well as your leasing company, should they be held partly responsible. Most leasing companies will recommend the following amounts of insurance coverage:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability coverage: $50,000
  • Comprehensive and collision coverage: $500 maximum deductible

Utah Auto Insurance Contacts

Utah Division of Motor Vehicles 
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84134
dmv.utah.gov
Utah Insurance Department 
3110 State Office Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
www.insurance.state.ut.us

Insurance Agents By City/Town In Utah