Live free or die. That’s New Hampshire’s motto and the state is known for its independent streak. Unlike many other states, New Hampshire doesn’t automatically require you to buy insurance to operate your vehicle. But that doesn’t mean you have free reign of the road while uninsured. The New Hampshire Financial Responsibility Law requires that residents provide proof that they are financially responsible and can pay for any damages and/or injuries that may occur as a result of an accident. If you can’t prove that you have the financial backing the state requires, you will be required to purchase insurance. In some cases, the state will require that you purchase insurance regardless of your bank account. If you’ve been involved in an accident, have a DUI conviction, multiple reckless driving convictions, or received a traffic violation, you may lose your right to drive free.
Average Auto Insurance Prices in New Hampshire
Even if you aren’t required to purchase insurance, it’s a good idea to have it. When you get in an accident, the insurance company will absorb most of the property and bodily injury cost, leaving you with your money. Fortunately, the average cost of New Hampshire auto insurance is reasonable. Currently, the U.S. average premium is $1,613.49. New Hampshire comes in significantly lower. The average car insurance premium is $1,227.26.
If you live in the any of the following cities, you may find that your insurance rates fluctuate. It’s also important to remember that personal factors like car model and make as well as driving history play into your premium costs.
Average Insurance Rates for the Five Most Populated Cities in New Hampshire
- Manchester= $1,461
- Nashua= $1,297
New Hampshire Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
If you choose to opt out of insurance and prove your financial responsibility to the state, you have no insurance requirements. Just know that one serious car accident can cost thousands of dollars. If someone takes you to court, you will be responsible for all legal fees, court costs, and any judgments that are ruled against you. When faced with that financial burden, many New Hampshire residents, even if able to pay for the cost of an accident, choose to save their money and pay for auto insurance. When premiums are affordable, it’s easy to take advantage of the safety net insurance offers.
If you decide to purchase auto insurance in New Hampshire, minimum limits are required but they’re relatively low when compared to many states.
- Bodily Injury Liability per person: $25,000
- Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $50,000
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per person: $25,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident: $50,000
- Medial Payments: $1,000 limit
If you purchase the minimum state requirements, you’ll be legally insured but it may be what you need to fully protect you. If you have any questions on how much coverage you need, an insurance agent can not only help you determine how much coverage you need but also how much your premium will. Insurance Panda also provides comparison shopping tools to ensure that you get the best policy at the best price.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in New Hampshire
If you prove to the state that you’re financially responsible, there are no penalties for driving without insurance. But New Hampshire, just like every other state, more than likely has residents that believe they can get away without purchasing insurance or proving financial responsibility. When your caught driving completely uninsured on a New Hampshire road, the costs can be steeper than actual insurance may have cost you. Your license and registration may be also be suspended.
When you finally get your license and right to drive back, you will have to get SR-22 coverage, which places you in high risk pool of insurance. If you thought the average premiums above seemed high enough to try to skip insurance altogether, you won’t enjoy paying SR-22 insurance premiums. Get used to it. New Hampshire normally requires SR-22 policies to be held for at least three years.
How to Get Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
Buying insurance is always a good idea, even if it’s not required by law. The tricky part is trying to find affordable insurance. You can spend your time doing online research for multiple insurance companies and making phone calls or you could just use Insurance Panda. We’ve developed an auto insurance comparison tool that provides a custom quote for you from multiple insurance companies. All you need to do is fill out a brief form and we can help you get started.
Insurance Agents By City/Town In New Hampshire
- Concord, NH – Cheap Car Insurance
- Manchester, NH – Cheap Car Insurance
- Nashua, NH – Cheap Car Insurance
Additional New Hampshire Auto Insurance Resources
The information above is for reference material only and Insurance Panda cannot legally be held responsible for anything written above. For official information, visit these websites: