CAR INSURANCE BY STATE

Nebraska auto insurance laws require that all drivers be financially responsible for and all property damages and injuries the driver caused in an accident. A “Tort” state is the term used to describe a state of this nature. All resident motor vehicle operators are required to carry auto liability insurance with minimum protection levels of 25/50/25 (see the chart below) as proof of their financial responsibility.

Nebraska does not requires uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. However, the suggested minimum levels are 25/50 (see the chart below). This will protect you in the unfortunate event of an accident with a driver that doesn’t have enough liability coverage for your expenses, or has no liability insurance at all.

Nebraska drivers may also choose to add extra protection to their policy with collision, comprehensive, and/or medical payment coverage.

Coverage Type Required? Minimum Coverage Amount Required
Bodily Injury Liability Yes $25,000 per person

$50,000 per accident

Property Damage Liability Yes $25,000
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage No $25,000 per person

$50,000 per accident

Personal Injury No

Auto Insurance for Leased Vehicles in Nebraska (NE)

Most leasing companies in Nebraska typically require drivers to maintain insurance coverage which exceeds the minimums set by Nebraska state law. This is to protect you financially, as well as your leasing company, should they be held partly responsible. Most leasing companies will recommend the following amounts of insurance coverage:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability coverage: $50,000
  • Comprehensive and collision coverage: $500 maximum deductible

Auto Insurance Agents By City/Town In Nebraska

Auto Insurance Contacts In Nebraska

Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
www.dmv.state.ne.us
Nebraska Department of Insurance
Terminal Building
941 “O” Street, Suite 400
Lincoln, NE 68508-3639
www.doi.ne.gov