CAR INSURANCE BY STATE
Missouri - Bill Emerson Bridge
Missouri car insurance facts, figures and requirements – by InsurancePanda.com

All states have nicknames, but Missouri’s is quite interesting. It’s called the “Show Me State” and there’s a fascinating story behind it. In 1899, Missouri Congressman Willard Duncan Vandiver gave a speech that embodied the Missouri way of life. He said, “I come from a state that raises corn and cotton and cockleburs and Democrats, and frothy eloquence neither convinces nor satisfies me. I am from Missouri. You have got to show me.” Although in that time, there weren’t many people searching for car insurance, today it’s required in Missouri, but can be frustrating to find the policy you need.

Instead of spending countless hours trying to find a new insurance provider, let us show you just how easy it can be. Simply use our free quote comparison tool to get affordable insurance quotes within minutes!

Average Auto Insurance Prices in Missouri

Insurance prices in Missouri will vary depending on where you live. Saint Louis may have some of the highest rates in the state thanks to its high population and crime rate, but geographic location isn’t the only factor used to determine your premiums. Safe drivers in Saint Louis could end up paying less than a driver with a negative history living in Marion. Even if you’re the ideal candidate for vehicle insurance, rates will vary according to insurance companies as well. That’s why it’s so important to conduct comparison shopping when searching for insurance.

Don’t be afraid to ask potential insurers about possible discounts. These also vary according to insurance company although many will offer a discount if you’ve never had a claim or bundle your insurance policies together.

  • Current average annual auto insurance premiums in the United States: $1666.62
  • Current average annual auto insurance premiums in Missouri: $1,836.00

Most Expensive Missouri Insurance Rates

  1. Saint Louis (63147): $1974
  2. Saint Louis (63115): $1958
  3. Saint Louis (63113): $1907
  4. Saint Louis (63107): $1890

Least Expensive Missouri Insurance Rates

  1. Jefferson (65101): $1075
  2. Jefferson (65109): $1091
  3. Moreau (65053): $1091
  4. Marion (65023): $1095

Missouri Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements

Arkansas requires that all drivers maintain a minimum amount of liability insurance on registered vehicles. It’s important to abide by this law in order to avoid getting traffic citations, but only purchasing the minimum amount of insurance could place you in a perilous position. Many more people need more coverage than the minimum amount, but don’t make the decision to purchase more because they’re afraid of a very high premium.

While we understand this fear, you could lose much more if you’re underinsured. In Missouri, the minimum amount of bodily injury liability recommended is $25,000. What if you cause an accident where medical expense total $50,000? The remaining $25,000 will come out of your own financial assets. Liability protection can also protect you if you’re sued because of an accident. Your insurance company has the ability to provide legal defense and even assist you with court ordered settlements, but only up to your coverage limits. Of course, the right coverage limit is a personal decision, but it’s a good idea to speak to your insurance agent about what limits might be right for you.

  • Bodily Injury Liability per person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury per person: $25,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident: $50,000

The following amounts and policies are most common in Missouri.

  • Bodily Injury Liability per person: $100,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $300,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $55,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury per person: $25,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident: $50,000
  • Medical Payments: $5,000
  • Collision: $500 deductible
  • Comprehensive: $250 deductible
  • Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per person: $50,000
  • Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident: $100,000

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Missouri

There are multiple ways to prove financial responsibility in Missouri, but the most common is filing for liability insurance. You can also file a bond or deposit worth $60,000 or a real estate bond with the Missouri Department of Revenue. If you’re an auto dealer with more than 25 vehicles, you can also apply for self insurance. Most residents choose to purchase liability insurance and you must prove you’re insured when you register your vehicle. You must also sign an affidavit at the Department of Revenue stating that you’ll maintain liability insurance the whole time your car is registered.

Always carry proof of insurance with you in your car. If you’re caught without proof of insurance, you could receive 4 points on your license or suspension. If you’re caught driving without any insurance, your license will automatically be suspended and it’s costly to be reinstated. If you’re in an accident and have no insurance, you’ll be required to file a high risk insurance policy for three years.

How to Get Auto Insurance in Missouri

To get multiple, reliable quotes simply use our quote comparison tool. It’s the best way to get affordable auto insurance in Missouri. All you need to do is enter your zip code and you’ll be required to fill out a brief form. Once it’s submitted, you’ll have access to customer insurance quotes from reputable Missouri providers.

Insurance Agents By City/Town In Missouri

Missouri Auto Insurance Resources

The information above is for reference material only and Insurance Panda cannot legally be held responsible for anything written above. For official information, visit these websites: