CAR INSURANCE BY STATE
Louisiana = New Orleans
Louisiana – car insurance guide, facts and figures you should know before getting a quote

Louisiana and especially New Orleans is very unique when compared to other states and cities in America. It’s vibrant Cajun culture and access to the Gulf Coast has given the state a very discernible identity. Instead of county names, Louisiana refers to areas as parishes. Instead of English common law, which is how other state laws are determined, Louisiana uses civil law. But, the one law that remains the same as many other states is the requirement to have Louisiana auto insurance. Make sure you have the necessary coverage to protect yourself and your passengers during an accident.

It can be hard to find the right provider in a state as large as Louisiana. It helps if you narrow the searching circle to your local area, but if you live in a large city, there may still be too many choices. How do you know which insurance professional is reliable? Let us help you. We’ve developed a method that can assist you with finding affordable insurance rates in your area. If you want to try it out, simply enter some basic information into our quote comparison tool and get started today.

Average Auto Insurance Prices in Louisiana

If you’re living in Louisiana, be ready to pay for auto insurance. The food might be delicious and the music might sound wonderful, but you might not like your insurance bill. Louisiana has one of the highest rates of car insurance premiums in the nation and New Orleans is the worst within the state. Why are your bills so high? Insurance experts say that insurance claims are sky high and plentiful. New Orleans claim amounts are almost 40% higher than anywhere in the U.S. and residents are footing the bill. Additional risk factors like natural disasters and high crime rates don’t help your premium. But you can still find ways to save money.

Keep a clean driving record. If you’re going to pay high prices based on where you live, don’t add to it by getting multiple tickets. It’s also important to talk to your insurance agent. You may qualify for certain discounts and not even know it. If you’re a student who gets good grades, you can get a discount. If you pay your car insurance premium in full, you can get a discount.

  • Current average annual auto insurance premiums in the United States: $1666.62
  • Current average annual auto insurance premiums in Louisiana: $2,453.00

Most Expensive Louisiana Insurance Rates

  1. New Orleans (70117): $3,530
  2. New Orleans (70113): $3,487
  3. New Orleans (70130): $3,451
  4. New Orleans (70128): $3,447

Least Expensive Louisiana Insurance Rates

  1. District 2 (71071): $1,874
  2. Cullen (71021): $1,874
  3. District 2 (71075): $1,882
  4. District 2 (71403): $1,886

Louisiana Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements

Compared to the rest of the country, Louisiana has low legal minimum requirements for insurance. Keep in mind that these are just suggestions. You most likely need much more insurance, but it can be hard to determine just how much coverage you need if you aren’t familiar with how insurance really works. There are multiple policies that you will need to purchase to be fully protected, but make sure that you really need each one of them. While it’s dangerous to be underinsured, you also don’t want to pay for insurance that you don’t need. One example is comprehensive insurance. You may have an older vehicle that doesn’t hold much value, but still runs. If you got into an accident, it would likely be totaled. Your comprehensive insurance cost would be worth more than the entire vehicle. It’s important to speak with an insurance agent when making decisions regarding your coverage.

  • Bodily Injury Liability per person: $15,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $30,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $25,000

The following amounts and policies are recommended.

  • Bodily Injury Liability per person: $15,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $30,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $25,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury per person: $10,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident: $20,000
  • Medical Payments: $5,000
  • Collision: $500 deductible
  • Comprehensive: $50 deductible

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Louisiana

When you register your vehicle in Louisiana, you must provide proof of insurance. Once you purchase insurance, the insurance company is required to notify the Department of Public Safety and Corrections’ Office of Motor Vehicles that you have liability coverage. Any additional changes or cancellations will also be recorded so don’t think that you can purchase insurance to register your car and then cancel it. The OMV will find out.

You may need to provide proof of insurance to a variety of people, but especially law enforcement. If you can’t provide proof of information, the police officer has the right to give you a ticket. You may even have your license plates taken and your vehicle impounded. In that case, you’ll need to purchase insurance and re-register your vehicle. If you simply forgot your insurance card at home, you have three days to prove you have insurance.

How to Get Auto Insurance in Louisiana

You can search on the internet for months without finding a reliable Louisiana auto insurance provider. Sometimes, when you’re bombarded with so many choices, it can be hard to make a decision. Instead, use our simple quote comparison tool. We’ll only provide you with a list of local reliable insurance companies who have affordable rates. Keep in mind these rates are based on basic information. To get more comprehensive quotes, contact the individual insurance companies and have your coverage tailored for your needs. We want you to find the best insurance coverage for your personal situation.

Insurance Agents By City/Town In Louisiana

Louisiana Auto Insurance Resources

The information above is for reference material only and Insurance Panda cannot legally be held responsible for anything written above. For official information, visit these websites: