As a “Tort” state, Illinois law states that each driver is financially responsible for any property damage or personal injuries resulting from an accident for which they are responsible. For this reason, Illinois has set mandatory liability minimums for car insurance policies of 20/40/15 (see the chart below).

Illinois’ regulations do not mandate uninsured motorist coverage but strongly encourage at least 20/40 (see the chart below). This portion of the policy helps to cover your expenses if your vehicle is hit by an uninsured driver. Should you choose to increase your uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage, you would also be required to add underinsured motorist coverage to your policy. This would cover the difference between the other party’s policy and your own.

Optional additions include accidental death, collision, comprehensive, and medical benefits.

Coverage Type Required? Minimum Coverage Amount Required
Bodily Injury Liability Yes $20,000 per person

$40,000 per accident

Property Damage Liability Yes $15,000
Uninsured Motorist Coverage No $20,000 per person

$40,000 per accident

Auto Insurance for Leased Vehicles in Illinois (IL)

Most leasing companies in Illinois typically require drivers to maintain insurance coverage which exceeds the minimums set by Illinois state law. This is to protect you financially, as well as your leasing company, should they be held partly responsible. Most leasing companies will recommend the following amounts of insurance coverage:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability coverage: $50,000
  • Comprehensive and collision coverage: $500 maximum deductible

Insurance Agents By City/Town In Illinois

Contacts for Auto Insurance Information In Illinois

Illinois Motorist Services 
213 State Capitol
Springfield, IL 62706
Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation: Division of Insurance 
320 W. Washington Street
Springfield, IL 62767-0001