CAR INSURANCE BY STATE
The Delaware State Capitol
Guide to car insurance in Delaware

If you look on a Delaware state quarter, you’ll notice that it says ‘First State.’ This is because when it came time to ratify the United States Constitution, Delaware was first in line. As one of the original 13 colonies that took part in the American Revolution, Delaware hasn’t let an insignificant thing like size hold it back. Although times have changed drastically since the 1700’s, Delaware continues to grow which means more drivers are taking to the road.

During the summer, you’re probably traveling to Rehoboth Beach to soak up the sun or visiting one of the many museums or lighthouse located on the coast. While a leisurely summer evening drive along the coast sounds like a great idea, make sure you have the proper level of insurance first. Delaware has a high rate of uninsured drivers for such a small state which can mean that the cost of an accident may be much more than you anticipate. With the right coverage you won’t have to pay for the expenses out of pocket.

Average Auto Insurance Prices in Delaware

Delaware’s state motto is ‘Liberty and Independence’ and while some consumers might interpret that as the freedom to drive your car with or without insurance, it’s not necessarily true. Insurance provides you with the protection you need to freely travel as you please. The fact of the matter is that accidents will happen and if you don’t have the right kind of coverage, you’ll find yourself chained by the property damage bills and possible medical expenses unless you have the financial resources to pay for everything. It’s true that insurance requires a monthly or yearly premium but no one ever said that freedom was free. To get a better idea of how much auto insurance might cost in your town, see the average premiums below:

  • Current average annual auto insurance premiums in the United States: $1666.62
  • Current average annual auto insurance premiums in Pennsylvania: $2150.00

Average Insurance Rates for the Top Five Most Populated Cities

  1. Wilmington: $2338
  2. Dover: $1942
  3. Newark: $2296
  4. Bear: $2053
  5. Middletown: $2213

Delaware Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements

It’s the law that you maintain certain minimum requirements on a vehicle in Delaware. Understand that while these are the standards set forth by the state, they won’t always cover you in the event of an accident. At the same time, you may not need some of the recommended policies. Finding the right coverage really depends on a serious of personal factors so it’s hard to prescribe an insurance plan for everyone. That’s one of the main reasons that the state only sets a minimum requirement. Obtaining the best form of insurance is your responsibility.

  • Bodily Injury Liability per person: $15,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $30,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000
  • Personal Injury Protection per person: $15,000
  • Personal Injury Protection per accident: $30,000

The following amounts and policies are recommended:

  • Bodily Injury Liability per person: $100,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability per accident: $300,000
  • Property Damage Liability: $50,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per person: $100,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury per accident: $300,000
  • Personal Injury Protection per person: $15,000
  • Personal Injury Protection per accident: $30,000
  • Collision: $500 deductible
  • Comprehensive: $0 deductible

Delaware is a no fault state which means that after an accident, your personal injury protection (PIP) coverage will kick in no matter who caused the accident. In other states, if you cause an accident insurers are reluctant to cover personal medical expenses unless you have the right kind of coverage. Since it’s a legal requirement in Delaware, you have the peace of mind of automatic benefits.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Delaware

For a state that takes driving uninsured so seriously, you wouldn’t think that the rate of uninsured drivers would be so high. Surprisingly it is and if you get caught without insurance, be prepared to pay.

  • Suspension of license for 6 month
  • Fines of at least $1,500

Even if you have insurance but don’t happen to have your insurance card on you, you’re still subject to fines. If necessary, ask your insurance company for additional cards to always be prepared. Keep one in your glove box and one in your wallet. It’s much cheaper than paying a ticket.

How to Get Auto Insurance in Delaware

Although Delaware is a tiny state, there are still many insurance providers and it can be stressful to find the right amount of coverage at an affordable rate. The best way is to compare pricing but who has the time to do that? Luckily for you, Insurance Panda has devised a way to save you money and make your insurance hunt easier. All you need to do is use our quote comparison tool and you’ll get custom quotes from reliable providers right in your neighborhood. It only takes some basic information and a few minutes to get started.

Insurance Agents By City/Town In Delaware

Additional Delaware Auto Insurance Resources

 The information above is for reference material only and Insurance Panda cannot legally be held responsible for anything written above. For official information, visit these websites: